top of page
  • Writer's pictureKatie O'Bright

HUGE primary care opportunities for private/cash-based practices

I've spent a lot of time connecting with rehab professionals all over the country and I've been finding that there are so many PTs interested in collaborating closer with primary care/family medicine physicians.


Holy cannoli... there is SO much effing opportunity here!


Just in the past 2 days since my podcast episode with PT Pintcast dropped, I have heard from 3 separate PT private practices that are in the midst of setting up, or wanting to set up, an integrated practice operation with local family med/primary care physicians. Here's the problem - there's no roadmap for the private sector outside of large health systems... but again, there's so much opportunity!


The great thing about private/solo practice - we don't have all the red-tape checks/balances & approvals nonsense that major health systems have to go through (the need for 10000 signatures for 1 simple project...), which means we can accelerate this coming to fruition. Here's are some simple ways to start:


  1. Let's CONNECT and talk about this. - Tell us what you're doing, what your goals are, where you are in the process. The easiest method is to join the Primary Care Special Interest Group (SIG). Add APTA Federal to your app membership. Login to APTA.org, click your member profile, click "add sections/chapters" and add APTA federal for just $25. From there, click here to be added to our SIG, then sign up for Basecamp, where you'll receive email notifications with all the PC related chatter. Not an APTA member and/or want to keep it easier? Join the PC SIG Facebook group here.

  2. Take a look at DPC Frontier to connect with a local physician: Did you know that Direct Primary Care is the newest, and most awesome primary care delivery model? In this no-insurance model, physicians work with their patients as members, usually for an affordable monthly fee. I was first exposed to this when I lived in Pittsburgh and my favorite primary care physician of all time, Dr. Natalie Gentile, helped me sort of numerous health issues. I was able to work with her as many times per month as needed for just $89/month..... beats every insurance company's butt, big time! Also, just to put this into perspective, my local yoga studio charges $85/month for 5 classes/month.... if you combine $89/month with a catastrophic insurance plan, this is a no-brainer for folks who want affordable, better, patient-centered care. You can use this DPC finder map to search for physicians in your location. My bet? DPC physicians are generally very PRO team-based care and likely to collaborate with you...

  3. Stay tuned for my manuscript: I am currently writing an update on current operating models in team-based primary care practice, and it includes an overview of potentials for private practices. My goal is have it done in the next month and get it out for publication in PTJ.... we'll see!

  4. Schedule a call with me! Click here to book a free call so I can learn about you and your goals, and help when/where I can. The first call is always free and I have affordable consulting rates beyond that.

I quit full-time PT practice to do this - enhance primary care competencies and team-based care opportunities for PTs and rehab professionals.... and also to see BS corporate models that rely on the number of overall visits to die. This model of care will be transformative. The time is now.




265 views

Коментарі


bottom of page